Colors of Autumn

Today is Thanksgiving here in the states. It’s the beginning of the holiday season. A time think about all the wonderful things we have in life. To feel the gratitude. A time to enjoy the company of family, and friends. A time to get ready for winter. Comfy sweaters and mocha lattes all around.

Thanksgiving is my second favorite holiday (the first one is Halloween). Mainly because I love to cook and eat. I look forward to sharing a big meal with those I love. Thanksgiving is my major cheat holiday, so I’m always looking forward to the classics. The turkey is great and all but I’m all about the side dishes. Mashed sweet potatoes with toasted marshmallows on top, green bean casserole, stuffing, and my personal favorite cranberry salad. Cranberry salad is a dish of whipped cream, pineapple juice. crushed cranberries, and mini marshmallows all mixed together. I’m a sweets person so it’s no mystery why is this my favorite side dish at dinner. I prefer it over the canned cranberry sauce any day. Oh, and we aren’t even going to get into dessert. I’ll just say pecan pie is my jam. Got to love fall.

Fall is beautifully colorful time of year. As it starts to get cold the scenery becomes filled with warm colors. Golds, reds, browns, rusts, oranges, and yellows everywhere as the leaves fall to the ground creating piles of color. It’s my favorite time to paint! I love the way the colors play so nicely together. It just inspires me to paint from life. It’s a shame autumn here is New York is such a short season.

Below is a picture of the most perfect leaf I saw walking out of work one day. I haven’t had a chance to paint it yet. I wanted to share it with you because it’s such a great example of those merging of colors I spoke about earlier. I feel like this leaf is just begging me to paint it.

  The leaf painting all the way at the top of this post is my take on one of Carrie “Watercolor Misfit”‘s tutorials. She walks through how she paints, and shades a fall leaf. It’s a lovely tutorial.I love her use of gold watercolor for accent. I encourage you the check out the tutorial and give it a go! (here is the link)
I want to wish everyone in the States a Happy, and safe Thanksgiving. Enjoy the time with your family, and friends.

To those out of the states I hope you enjoy your day, and weekend just as much.

Happy Painting!

 

Leave a comment